CALL FOR PAPERS: ADVANCES IN COMPUTER GAMES 13 CONFERENCE

Tilburg, the Netherlands 20-22 November 2011

H.J. van den Herik and A. Plaat (editors)

Tilburg, The Netherlands

The thirteenth conference on Advances in Computer Games (ACG13) will be held in Tilburg, the Netherlands, in conjunction with the 19th WCCC and the 16th Computer Olympiad at Tilburg University. The conference commences on Sunday November 20 at 08.30-12.30h and will take place on three consecutive days. The conference aims in the first place at providing an international forum for computer-games researchers presenting new results on ongoing work. The recent successes of the ACG Conferences and the Computers and Games conferences have encouraged the organizers to widen their scope and therefore we encourage contributions on Robotic Pool and Snooker as well as on virtual and video games and modern board games. So, we invite contributors to submit papers on all aspects of research related to computers and games. Relevant topics include, but are not limited to: (1) the current state of game-playing programs for classic and modern board and card games, (2) the current state of virtual and video games, (3) new theoretical developments in game-related research, and (4) general scientific contributions produced by the study of games. Also researchers on topics such as (5) social aspects of computer games, (6) cognitive research of how humans play games, and (7) issues related to networked games are invited to submit their contributions.

Important Dates

Paper Submission	September 10, 2011
Acceptance Notification	October 12, 2011
Final Papers	November 1, 2011

Paper Submission Requirements

Papers of 8 to 10 pages are preferred. The maximum length is 12 pages. The preferred format for submission is PDF, but Postscript or Word are also acceptable. The paper must be written in the English language. We expect to publish the proceedings in the Lecture Note Series (LNCS/LNAI) format. Please follow the instructions for authors available at the Springer LNCS/LNAI Web: http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html.

Refereeing Process

The usual full refereeing process will be executed. Papers will be refereed by members of the Programme Committee. In practice, this means that papers are accepted if their topic suits the conference and their overall quality is acceptable. Accepted papers will be scheduled for presentation during the conference and will be printed as conference proceedings. Authors of accepted papers, or their representatives, are expected to present their papers at the conference. Notice of acceptance of papers will be sent by October 12, 2011 to the principal author. Final papers are due by November 1, 2011.

Registration		
Registration Fee	Early	Late
	(On or before October 20)	Late (After October 20)
Participants	Euro 180	Euro 220
Students	Euro 120	Euro 150

Admission to the conference and a copy of conference proceedings are included in the conference

Admission to the conference and a copy of conference proceedings are included in the conference registration fee.

Proceedings

Registration

The editing and processing of the contributions to the proceedings will be led by Prof. H.J. van den Herik and Prof. A. Plaat. The proceedings will be published in 2012 (Post-proceedings). During the conference participants can order (additional) copies.

The Programme Committee consists of:

Jaap van den Herik (chair) Aske Plaat (co-chair), Ingo Althöfer Yngvi Björnsson Bruno Bouzy Ivan Bratko Tristan Cazenave Paolo Ciancarini Rémi Coulom Jeroen Donkers David Fotland Aviezri Fraenkel James Glenn Matej Guid Dap Hartmann Tsuyoshi Hashimoto Guy McCrossan Haworth Ryan Hayward Tsan-Sheng Hsu Hiroyuki Iida Graham Kendall Akihiro Kishimoto Clyde Kruskal Richard Lorentz Ulf Lorenz Hitoshi Matsubara Martin Müller Jacques Pitrat Christian Posthoff Matthias Rauterberg Aleksander Sadikov Jahn Saito Jonathan Schaeffer Yaron Shoham Pieter Spronck Nathan Sturtevant Omid David Tabibi Tetsuro Tanaka Yoshimasa Tsuroka Jos Uiterwijk Peter van Emde Boas Jan van Zanten Gert Vriend Hans Weigand Mark Winands

The Organising Committee consists of: Johanna Hellemons (chair), Erik Kamps, Susanne van der Velden, and Eva Verschoor.

More information: Prof.dr. H.J. van den Herik, Tilburg University, TiCC, P.O. Box 90153, 5000 LE Tilburg, The Netherlands, email: H.J.vdnHerik@uvt.nl or Johanna Hellemons, email: info@icga.org.